King Edward VI Grammar School Chelmsford

Higher Education

DJBET电竞菠菜人 The vast majority of Sixth Form students at KEGS choose to progress to Higher Education after the completion of their A Level courses.  Each year we send almost all of our students on to take degree courses at university, many at Russell Group Universities (which include the University of Cambridge and the University of Oxford) and Universities belonging to the 1994 Group.

Following the completion of Year 12 Predictor examinations in the Summer Term, students begin to prepare their higher education applications under the guidance of our UCAS Co-ordinator, Ms Wiltshire and their reference writer. Students are responsible for completing their online application at which includes their personal statement. Each student has their own reference writer who offers information, advice and guidance to help their application process. Students meet with their reference writer in the Autumn Term of Year 13 and most applications are completed by the end of the Autumn Term each year. More information about the process of applying to Higher Education can be provided for interested parties on the UCAS website. More and more universities require students to take admissions tests in addition to their A levels if applying for courses in certain subjects (e.g. law, medicine, dentistry and some Oxbridge courses). Information about the various admissions tests can also be found on the UCAS website: The student is entirely responsible for ensuring that any admissions tests that are required are booked at sat. (Many will be taken in school. Look out for details from Mrs Rowe).

The Conservatoires UK Admissions Service (CUKAS) provides the facilities to research and apply for practice-based music courses at some of the UK conservatoires whilst any students planning to apply to Art foundation courses and some Acting Schools will need to apply independently from UCAS.  The closing dates for applications to these courses may be different to the standard UCAS closing dates.

Key Higher Education dates are listed below:

15 October 
Closing date for all applications for all courses at the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge and all applications for medicine, dentistry, veterinary science and veterinary medicine courses.

15 January
Closing date for all other applications from UK and EU students to be guaranteed equal academic consideration.

31 March
Universities and colleges should aim to have sent their decisions on all applications received by 15 January (it can take longer).

Applicants need to reply to their offers (exact deadline depends on date by which all university decisions were received).

During August
A level results are published and the Clearing vacancy service starts for applicants who do not have a place.

The Russell Group represents 24 leading UK universities, which are committed to maintaining the very best research, an outstanding teaching and learning experience and unrivalled links with business and the public sector. Formed in 1994 at a meeting convened in Russell Square, the Group is composed of the Vice-Chancellors/Principals of the Universities listed below:

University of Birmingham
University of Bristol
University of Cambridge
Cardiff University
Durham University
University of Edinburgh
University of Exeter
University of Glasgow
Imperial College London
King's College London
University of Leeds
University of Liverpool
London School of Economics & Political Science
University of Manchester
Newcastle University
University of Nottingham
University of Oxford
Queen Mary, University of London
Queen's University Belfast
University of Sheffield
University of Southampton
University College London
University of Warwick
University of York

The 1994 Group is an association of 11 smaller internationally renowned, research-intensive institutions:

Birkbeck, University of London
University of East Anglia
University of Essex
Goldsmiths, University of London
Institute of Education, University of London
Royal Holloway, University of London
Lancaster University
University of Leicester
Loughborough University
School of Oriental and African Studies
University of Sussex